When he was 20, Arthur Stone and Sarah Yeaman married in Ogden, Utah. Soonafter in 1863, Arthur built a rubble rock house in Ogden, Utah. The residence sat on a 37-acre farm near his father's farm. The house had three levels. Classified as hall-parlor, the house had two rooms on the ground level: a single square room, named the hall, with a smaller room called the best room, or parlor. It was originally one and a half stories tall with a basement. Stone's house was unique from the others on his block, which were log and adobe. Stone's house was made out of rock and At this time the other houses on 2nd Street were log and adobe. Stone’s rock house was unique and was meant to be a long lasting structure.
Stone was a farmer and a musician. He became popular in Weber County playing for community dances. He was also fascinated with Native American culture and became friends with the nearby Shoshone people. The home served as a gathering place for them. Two years before his death, in 1874, Arthur Stone sold the rubble rock house and 37-acre farm to Alexander Brown.
In 1911, the home was sold to Thomas Manley, who added a bungalow-style brick addition to the front of the rock house. In 1923, Henry and Genevieve Kelly James purchased the house and farm. Later, Henry and Genevieve James passed the house and farm on to their son, Brendan James, and his wife, Marjorie. The house remained in the James family for 72 years.
In 1995, Rick and Tammy Creeger bought the property. By 2020, the property was on the Ogen City Historic Register. According to Weber County property records, there were almost 20 buildings that were built before the year 1900 that were still standing in the area known as Bingham’s Fort. Bingham's Fort is the only place where remaining pioneer homes still stand.
The house still has log floors under the carpet, inner adobe walls, and the original exterior window and door casings in place. The rock walls of the old house begin in the cellar and extend to the present roof. The ceiling of the cellar is six-and-a-half feet from the dirt floor with one exit to the outside. The cellar door is still the original wooden door in a solid mortise and tenon construction opening to stairs. Parts of the Stone's hard work still remain in their original place.