In 1940, the people of Weber County became aware that the hospitals they already had in the area could not accommodate the growing population brought in by the new Hill Air Force Base. Despite the need, however, there was no public money for a new…

Miles Goodyear (1817 - 1849), who had been many years involved in the Rocky Mountain fur trade, built a post in 1846 on the Weber River about two miles above its junction with the Ogden River. He called it Fort Buenaventura after the mythical river…

The Depot was originally activated as Utah General Depot on September 15, 1941, built on 1, 679 acres of farmland in the community of Marriott, Utah. Overseen by the Department of Defense (DOD), its mission was to provide logistical support which…

John Scowcroft (1844 -1902) emigrated to Utah from Tottington, Manchester, England, in 1880 with his wife, Mary Fletcher, and children as part of the “Gathering” of converts of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Although he had worked…

In 1923, George Albert Taggert and his wife Mabel Shurtliff bought an area five miles east of Morgan, Utah nestled in a canyon of the Rocky Mountains near the Weber River. It was originally known as Sharps Flat and owned by the Union Pacific…